Folly Bridge : The Farmer’s Toast-El Brindis del Granjero

La canción está acá quien la subió desactivó la posibilidad de embedarla incrustrarla fuera de Youtube.


Sobre la canción:

“A celebration of a farmer’s life, in the days before agribusiness and the Common Agricultural Policy. It is also known as ‘The Jolly Farmer’ and ‘God Speed the Plough’.

Originally published as a broadside in the early 19th century, the verses can be found on plates and mugs produced at the time, and I’ve even seen it on a stone plaque somewhere. Nobody knows who wrote it, but he was probably not a farmer.

Come all jolly fellows who delight in being mellow
Attend unto me I beseech you
For a pint when it’s quiet, come boys let us try it
For thinking will drive a man crazy

Chorus:
I have lawns, I have bowers, I have fields, I have flowers
And the lark is my daily alarmer
So jolly boys now, here’s God speed the plough
Long life and success to the farmer

Come sit at my table, all those who are able
Let me hear not one word of complaining
For the tinkling of glasses all music surpasses
And I love to see bottles a-draining

For here I am king, I can laugh, drink and sing
Let no man approach as a stranger
Just show me the ass who refuses a glass
And I’ll treat him to hay in a manger

Let the wealthy and great roll in splendour and state,
I envy them not, I declare it
For I eat my own ham, my own chickens and lamb
And I shear my own fleece and I wear it

Were it not for my seeding, you’d have but poor feeding
I’m sure you would all starve without me
But I am content when I pay my rent
And I’m happy when friends are about me.”


Más o menos:

“Un homenaje de la vida de un agricultor, en los días previos a los agronegocio y a la Política Agrícola Común. También se conoce como “el granjero alegre” y “Dios acelera mi arado”.

Originalmente publicado como un panfleto en el siglo 19, los versos se pueden encontrar en los platos y tazas producidas en ese momento, y las he visto incluso en una placa de piedra en algún lugar. Nadie sabe quién la escribió, pero probablemente no era un granjero.

Vengan todos alegres chicos que se deleitan en ser amables
Asistánme se los ruego
Bebamos una pinta tranquilos, vengan chicos vamos a probarlos
Pensar nos enloquecerá

Coro:
Tengo jardines, tengo jardines, tengo campos, tengo flores
Y la alondra es mi diario despertar
Así que chicos alegres, aquí está Dios acelerando al arado
Larga vida y éxito para el agricultor

Vengan a sentarte a mi mesa, todos los que sean capaces
No quiero oír ni una palabra de queja
Que el tintineo de las copas supere a toda la música
Y me encanta ver a las botellas vaciándose

Porque aquí soy rey, puedo reír, beber y cantar
Que nadie se acerque como un extraño
Sólo muéstrenme al asno que rechaza un vaso
Y lo trataré como al heno de un pesebre

Dejemos que los ricos y grandes se enrollen con el esplendor y el estado,
No los envidio, lo declaro
Porque yo como mi propio jamón, mis propios pollos y corderos
Y ciego mi propio vellón y lo visto

Si no fuera por mi siembra, tendrías una mala alimentación
Estoy seguro de que todos ustedes morirían de hambre sin mí
Pero estoy satisfecho cuando pago mi alquiler
Y soy feliz cuando los amigos están conmigo.

Responder

